Rejoice And Blossom As the Rose

Back in February, my sweet husband brought home a beautiful bouquet of roses for me.  As always, I cut the ends of the stems every few days to keep them around as long as possible.  Before the flowers were spent, I noticed several of the stems putting out leaves.  Of course, I did the Google to find out how to make the stems root so that I could plant them eventually.  Just about all of the articles I found said that hothouse roses might put out leaves, but most likely won’t grow roots.  Undaunted, I put all of the stems in glasses of water and set them on my kitchen windowsill.  They put out some beautiful leaves, but none of them grew any roots.  Most of the stems dried up or got mushy, even with my changing the water daily.  A couple of the stems, though, did not give up.  So I stuck them in little pots of soil and left them on my deck where they would get plenty of sunshine and rain.

I kept the pots watered as the days began to heat up in July.  One of the stems bit the dust.  But, as I was watering the plants on the deck one day, I noticed something.  The remaining rose stem had actually bloomed!  As one would expect, the little rose looked nothing like the parent flower.  The roses my husband brought home to me were creamy white with red edges.  The little rose on my baby plant was light pink, and it resembled an old-fashioned wild rose.  The fact that the bloom was entirely different from what the original rose looked like doesn’t bother me.  I’m just tickled pink that my plant actually flowered!  And glad that I didn’t give up on it.

As of late, even the littlest of things excites me.  My dear one, battling anxiety and depression for the past two months, has been ever on my mind.  His struggle has consumed me, and it is almost all I can think about.  My back yard, however, has given me respite from the dark days.  I thank my heavenly daddy, Abba Father, for including the gardens in His divine plan for me this year.  He has brought me glorious surprises every day.  I see His remarkable gifts as I daily inspect the cantaloupes, tomato plants, green bean vines, pumpkin and gourd plants, and all the beautiful flowers.  Cutting bouquets of cheerful zinnias and shasta daisies brings much joy.  And a little pink rose bloom, which was supposed to be an impossibility, brings hope.

The wilderness and the wasteland shall be glad for them,
And the desert shall rejoice and blossom as the rose;
It shall blossom abundantly and rejoice,
Even with joy and singing.
The glory of Lebanon shall be given to it,
The excellence of Carmel and Sharon.
They shall see the glory of the LORD,
The excellency of our God.   Isaiah 35:1 & 2, NKJV
2 thoughts on “Rejoice And Blossom As the Rose

  1. It was wonderful to see a post from you today! I love that your little pink rose bloom is a resemblance of HOPE. May God continue to bring you joy with each new day, and bring healing to your dear one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

